Wednesday June 10, 2020 – Confusion marred the receiving of Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru’s impeachment motion after Gatundu MP, Moses Kuria, and Senate Speaker Ken Lusaka posted conflicting messages.

Moses Kuria took to social media yesterday to reveal that Lusaka had appointed a committee to handle the impeachment of Waiguru.

“Speaker Ken Lusaka appoints 9 person committee to consider the impeachment motion against Governor Anne Waiguru,” wrote the MP.

Kuria went on to post the names of the committee members that will allegedly be chaired by Baringo Senator Gideon Moi, who will be deputised by Siaya Senator James Orengo.

Senate Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata was part of the team according to Moses Kuria alongside Fatuma Dulo, Johnson Sakaja, Ephraim Maina, Mutula Kilonzo Jr, Cleophas Malala and Ledama Ole Kina.

Lusaka, however, quashed Moses Kuria’s claims as he cleared the air saying that he is yet to receive Waiguru’s impeachment motion.

“I have not yet received any notification from the Kirinyaga County Assembly Speaker regarding the impeachment of Governor Anne Waiguru.”

“My office will act accordingly once we receive the communication and documents in evidence of the Assembly proceedings today (June 9, 2020),” noted Lusaka.

Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior raised questions on whether the County Assembly ignored a court order obtained by Waiguru.

“The question whether the County Assembly of Kirinyaga acted in contempt of the High Court order by proceeding to impeach Governor Anne Waiguru raises serious fundamental questions of law.”

“We await the proceedings!” he explained.

Waiguru’s fate is now in the hands of the Senate which will vote on whether or not the Kirinyaga Governor should be sent packing after impeachment by her County Assembly.


For more gossip, entertainment and political drama, visit our blog here>>>

Leave a Reply