Tuesday May 26, 2020 – President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party has announced more changes in its Senate leadership with a new team of committee members and leaders, in a move that will see most of Deputy President William Ruto’s allies lose their powerful seats.

The changes were announced by Jubilee Party Secretary-General, Raphael Tuju, and party Chief Whip, Irungu Kangata.

Bomet Senator Christopher Langata, a Ruto ally and a member of the powerful Senate Business Committee, will be replaced by Nairobi Senator, Johnson Sakaja.

Langat was also removed as Chairman of the Senate’s Education Committee and his place taken by Alice Milgo.

Nandi Senator, Samson Cherargei, was removed from the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee and his position taken by Tharaka Nithi Senator, Prof Kithure Kindiki.

Meru Senator Mithika Linturi was removed from the Senate’s Public Accounts and Investments Committee and will be replaced by Senate’s Deputy Majority Leader Fatuma Dullo.

Laikipia Senator John Kinyua, who was the chairman of the Devolution Committee was removed and Elgeyo Marakwet Senator, Kipchumba Murkomen, chosen as a member of the committee.


For more gossip, entertainment and political drama, visit our blog here>>>

Leave a Reply