Friday September 13, 2019 – In an apparent homage to the handshake, the Parliamentary Honours Advisory Committee has forwarded to President Uhuru Kenyatta a list of individuals recommended for the award of the Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS), among them some of Raila Odinga’s key allies.

Amongst those set to be honored are Raila’s right-hand man and Suna East MP, Junet Mohammed, and Hon. Millie Odhiambo, MP, for Suba North.

Junet Mohamed is the Minority Whip, a member of the Public Accounts Committee and also a member of the committee on selection in the National Assembly.

The fiery Millie Odhiambo is a member of the Budget and Appropriations Committee in the National Assembly.

She is also known for her zealous activism for women’s rights outside the halls of Parliament.

Others recommended for these awards include Luanda MP, Christopher Omulele, Nakuru Senator, Susan Kihika, Kericho Senator Aaron Cheruiyot and Kieni MP, Kanini Kega.

The CBS award falls in the category of the Order of the Burning Spear,which is the second-highest category of the presidential awards.

These orders are awarded solely by the President in recognition of outstanding or distinguished services rendered to the nation in various capacities and responsibilities.

Leave a Reply