Tuesday, May 5, 2020 – Health Cabinet Secretary, Mutahi Kagwe, has announced 45 new Coronavirus positive cases putting the national tally to 535.

Addressing reporters at Afya House, Mutahi said that 29 of these new cases are from Nairobi, 11 from Mombasa and 5 from Wajir.

The CS said 44 cases are Kenyan nationals while one is a foreigner.

“There is a community spread in three key areas: Eastleigh, Kawangware, and Old Town Mombasa… we need to take serious action in those areas,” Mutahi said.

In Nairobi, Eastleigh, has so far registered 63 cases, Kawangware 24.

9 more people have been discharged bringing the total number of recoveries to 182.

Sources said mass testing is behind Eastleigh’s spike.

The Government has embarked on mass testing in Eastleigh, Kawangware, and old town in Mombasa.

The three areas are said to be the epicenter of COVID19 and the Government may lock the areas to stop further spread of the virus.


Leave a Reply